In 1990 the Inter-Agency Committee on Radiation Safety (IACRS) was formed to serve as a forum for collaboration between international organisations in matters of radiation safety. The IACRS, which represents an important step towards the international harmonisation of radiation protection and safety, is currently comprised of the following members:

European Commission Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations IAEA International Labour Organization Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development Nuclear Energy Agency PAHO United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation World Health Organization

Our objective

The objective of the IACRS is to promote consistency and co-ordination of policies with respect to the following areas of common interest: applying principles, criteria and standards of radiation protection and safety and translating them into regulatory terms; co-ordinating research and development; advancing education and training; promoting widespread information exchange; facilitating the transfer of technology and know-how; and providing services in radiation protection and safety.

To achieve this, the IACRS was created to provide a forum for the exchange of information between the agencies/organizations on their respective activities with a view to ensuring as far as possible the harmonization of their respective plans and activities related to radiation safety, in order to avoid unnecessary duplication of radiation safety standards and recommendations. In working to achieve such co-ordination, the IACRS specifically agrees, as and when appropriate, to consider proposals for and facilitate the review and revision of the International Basic Safety Standards for Protection against Ionizing Radiation and for the Safety of Radiation Sources. The Committee may set up ad hoc task groups to address specific issues, and the functions of the Committee are undertaken without prejudice to the roles and responsibilities to the Member organizations/agencies.